Awards To Build Statewide Network of Electric Vehicle Charging Stations Announced

The first round of awards for developers to design, build, operate, and maintain a statewide network of EV charging stations was announced this week.

Nearly $10.9 million from federal funds, private matching funds, and a state-issued request for proposals under the National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) program has been awarded to six developers to build the charging stations. The funding will go toward the construction of 16 public charging stations along 11 Alternative Fuel Corridor groups, under an implementation plan approved by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA). A list of the developers and locations is available here.

“With 21 projects in the electric vehicle sector announced so far during my administration, we have solidified Kentucky as the EV battery production capital of the United States,” said Gov. Beshear. “With so much EV production happening right here in the Commonwealth, we want Kentuckians to be able to reap the benefits. Today, we are taking a major step forward on our mission to have a statewide electric vehicle charging network.”

The awards announced this week allow developers to begin the initial phases of the project: design, utility coordination, environmental review, and ordering equipment. Developers have 90 days to meet certain conditions and then a project agreement will be executed.

Under Kentucky’s deployment plan, the Direct Current Fast Charging (DCFC) stations must be always open to the public and power any non-proprietary EV model. They also must be no more than 1 mile from a designated corridor and no more than 50 miles apart. A second RFP will be issued to fill in the gaps.

An estimated 37 DCFS stations will be needed to build out Kentucky’s portion of the NEVI program. The initial build-out is required by federal law to be along Kentucky interstates and parkways that FHWA has approved for designation as Alternative Fuel Corridors.

Those selected to develop sites within the statewide network will be required by contract to operate and maintain the stations for five years after construction is completed. This will promote the long-term performance of the EV network according to NEVI requirements established by FHWA. Federal formula funds from the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law of approximately $70 million will support Kentucky’s initiative, with a match by private-entity funds.