Senate Appoints Committee Chairs

The Kentucky Senate appointed chairs and vice chairs for various legislative standing, statutory, and budget review committees and subcommittees. They include some new faces. The Senate also took the same steps as the House of Representatives and divided the former Health and Welfare Committee into two separate groups.

Committee chairs and vice chairs for the 2023 session include:

*Denotes a new appointment

  • Agriculture ‒ *Jason Howell (R-Murray) chair, *Senator-elect Gary Boswell (R-Owensboro) vice chair
  • Appropriations and Revenue ‒ Chris McDaniel (R-Ryland Heights) chair, *Senator-elect Amanda Mays Bledsoe (R-Lexington) vice chair
    • Budget Review Subcommittee on Economic Development, Tourism, Natural Resources, and Environmental Protection ‒ *Senator-elect Gary Boswell (R-Owensboro) chair
    • Budget Review Subcommittee on Education ‒ *Senator-elect Matt Deneen (R-Elizabethtown) chair
    • Budget Review Subcommittee on General Government, Finance, and Public Protection ‒ Mike Nemes (R-Shepherdsville) chair
    • Budget Review Subcommittee on Human Resources ‒ *Donald Douglas (R-Nicholasville) chair
    • Budget Review Subcommittee on Justice and Judiciary ‒ *Senator-elect Gex “Jay” Williams (R-Verona) chair
  • Banking and Insurance ‒ Jared Carpenter (R-Berea) chair, Rick Girdler (R-Somerset) vice chair
  • Economic Development, Tourism, and Labor ‒ *Max Wise (R-Campbellsville) chair, Phillip Wheeler (R-Pikeville) vice chair
  • Education ‒ *Steve West (R-Paris) chair, *Senator-elect Gex “Jay” Williams (R-Verona) vice chair
  • Families and Children ‒ *Danny Carroll (R-Paducah) chair, *Julie Raque Adams (R-Louisville) vice chair
  • **Health Services ‒ Ralph Alvarado (R-Winchester) chair, Steve Meredith (R-Leitchfield) vice chair
  • Judiciary ‒ Whitney Westerfield (R-Crofton) chair, *Phillip Wheeler (R-Pikeville) vice chair
  • Licensing and Occupations ‒ John Schickel (R-Union) chair, *Mike Nemes (R-Shepherdsville) vice chair
  • Natural Resources and Energy ‒ Brandon Smith (R-Hazard) chair, Johnnie Turner (R-Harlan) vice chair
  • State and Local Government ‒ Robby Mills (R-Henderson) chair, Mike Nemes (R-Shepherdsville) vice chair
  • Transportation ‒ Jimmy Higdon (R-Lebanon) chair, Brandon Storm (R-London) vice chair
  • Veterans, Military Affairs, and Public Protection ‒ *Rick Girdler (R-Somerset) chair, *Senator-elect Matt Deneen (R-Elizabethtown) vice chair

**Senator Alvarado has announced plans to resign from the Senate shortly after the 2023 session begins on Jan. 3 to lead the Tennessee Department of Health. Once that happens, Steve Meredith will assume the chair of the Health Services Committee, and Senator Donald Douglas will take the role of vice chair.

The following senators were appointed co-chairs of statutory committees, which consist of House and Senate members and focus on specific areas.

  • Administrative Regulation Review Subcommittee ‒ Steve West (R-Paris)
  • Capital Planning Advisory Board ‒ *Phillip Wheeler (R-Pikeville)
  • Capital Projects and Bond Oversight ‒ *Rick Girdler (R-Somerset)
  • Government Contract Review ‒ Steve Meredith (R-Leitchfield)
  • Legislative Oversight and Investigations ‒ *Brandon Storm (R-London)
  • Public Pension Oversight Board ‒ Jimmy Higdon (R-Lebanon)
  • Commission on Race and Access to Opportunity ‒ David Givens (R-Greensburg)
  • Tobacco Settlement Agreement Fund Oversight ‒ *Senator-elect Amanda Mays Bledsoe (R-Lexington)

Committee assignments become final once the Senate Committee on Committees formally votes early in the 2023 Regular Session.