House Democrats Elect New Leadership

Kentucky House Democrats selected leadership on Friday for the next two years, including two new faces. Former Minority Floor Leader Joni Jenkins (D-Shively) did not seek reelection, and Minority Whip Angie Hatton (D-Whitesburg) lost her seat to Republican Jacob Justice in the November General Election.

Former Minority Caucus Chair Derrick Graham (D-Frankfort) will now serve as minority floor leader. The caucus elected Cherlynn Stevenson (D-Lexington) as caucus chair and Rachel Roberts (D-Newport) as caucus whip.

Democrats face an even larger Republican supermajority when they return for the 2023 Regular Session on Jan. 3. Republicans will hold 80 of the 100 seats in the House of Representatives.

The Democratic Senate caucus has not yet announced its leadership elections, but it will also include new faces. Senate Minority Floor Leader Morgan McGarvey (D-Louisville) won the 3rd congressional seat formerly occupied by Congressman John Yarmuth, who retired this year. Additionally, Senate Minority Whip Dennis Parrett (D-Elizabethtown) did not seek reelection. Republicans will have a 31-7 majority in that chamber.