Republican Majority Retains Senate Leadership

The Senate Republican Majority Caucus will keep its leadership the same for the next two years. All five senators sought to retain their position, and no Republican opposed them for the seats. The following senators will hold their position through 2024:

  • President ‒ Robert Stivers (R-Manchester)
  • President Pro-Tempore ‒ David Givens (R-Greensburg)
  • Majority Floor Leader ‒ Damon Thayer (R-Georgetown)
  • Majority Caucus Chair ‒ Julie Raque Adams (R-Louisville)
  • Majority Whip ‒ Mike Wilson (R-Bowling Green)

“Our caucus members have spoken, and their trust in existing leadership is a testament to our strong working relationship,” Stivers said. “Senate leaders and the entire majority caucus will continue to prioritize sound public policy and fiscal responsibility in the 2023 legislative session as we lead with the confidence Kentucky voters have placed in us.”

Republicans will hold a 31-7 majority when the 2023 Regular Session begins on Jan. 3 after picking up another seat during last week’s elections.