KLC Names 2022 ‘Friend of Kentucky Cities’ Recipients

The Kentucky League of Cities (KLC) Board of Directors voted to recognize 41 legislators for their work on behalf of cities during the 2022 Regular Session of the General Assembly. This year’s “Friend of Kentucky Cities” award recipients helped pass a record number of KLC initiatives that directly impact cities, which drive the commonwealth’s economy. Additionally, several recipients helped stop measures that would have removed the ability of local communities to make the best decisions for their city.

In all, lawmakers passed bills that address 26 KLC legislative agenda items. Those measures address various issues that the KLC board identified as priorities, including a limitation on untrained constables exercising peace officer powers, a sunset provision for separation expenses billed to the County Employees Retirement System (CERS), measures that address emergency medical services (EMS) needs, and various law enforcement provisions.

The 2022 Legislative Update summarizes all the bills legislators passed in the 2022 session that impact cities and details each KLC initiative.

This year’s “Friend of Kentucky Cities” award recipients include:

  • Rep. Danny Bentley (R-Russell)
  • Rep. John Blanton (R-Salyersville)
  • Rep. Adam Bowling (R-Middlesboro)
  • Rep. Josh Branscum (R-Russell Springs)
  • Rep. Kevin Bratcher (R-Louisville)
  • Rep. Josh Bray (R-Mount Vernon)
  • Rep. Jonathan Dixon (R-Corydon)
  • Rep. Myron Dossett (R-Pembroke)
  • Rep. Ken Fleming (R-Louisville)
  • Rep. Deanna Frazier Gordon (R-Richmond)
  • Rep. Chris Freeland (R-Benton)
  • Rep. Mark Hart (R-Falmouth)
  • Rep. Samara Heavrin (R-Leitchfield)
  • Rep. Adam Koenig (R-Erlanger)
  • Rep. Michael Meredith (R-Oakland)
  • Rep. Jerry Miller (R-Louisville)
  • Rep. Kim Moser (R-Taylor Mill)
  • Rep. David Osborne (R-Prospect)
  • Rep. Jason Petrie (R-Elkton)
  • Rep. Brandon Reed (R-Hodgenville)
  • Rep. Bart Rowland (R-Tompkinsville)
  • Rep. Steven Rudy (R-Paducah)
  • Rep. Scott Sharp (R-Ashland)
  • Rep. Walker Thomas (R-Hopkinsville)
  • Rep. Ken Upchurch (R-Monticello)
  • Rep. Russell Webber (R-Shepherdsville)
  • Sen. Ralph Alvarado (R-Winchester)
  • Sen. Rick Girdler (R-Somerset)
  • Sen. Chris McDaniel (R-Ryland Heights)
  • Sen. Robby Mills (R-Henderson)
  • Sen. Mike Nemes (R-Shepherdsville)
  • Sen. Julie Raque Adams (R-Louisville)
  • Sen. Wil Schroder (R-Wilder)
  • Sen. Robert Stivers (R-Manchester)
  • Sen. Damon Thayer (R-Georgetown)
  • Sen. Robin Webb (D-Grayson)
  • Sen. Stephen West (R-Paris)
  • Sen. Whitney Westerfield (R-Crofton)
  • Sen. Phillip Wheeler (R-Pikeville)
  • Sen. Mike Wilson (R-Bowling Green)
  • Sen. Max Wise (R-Campbellsville)