Primary Election Brings Change to Frankfort

Kentucky’s Primary Election results mean a few more new faces in the House and Senate when legislators return to Frankfort in January. Challengers defeated incumbents in four contests while redistricting resulted in contests between colleagues, and retirements created opportunities for new candidates.

Marianne Proctor (R-Union) will represent the 60th House District following her victory over House Budget Review Subcommittee on Transportation Chair Sal Santoro (R-Union) since she will run unopposed in the General Election.

In the 66th District, challenger Steve Rawlings (R-Burlington) defeated House Judiciary Committee Chair C. Ed Massey (R-Hebron). Rawlings, who serves on the Erlanger City Council, will face Tim Montgomery (D-Burlington) in November.

Steve Doan (R-Erlanger) defeated House Licensing, Occupations, and Administrative Regulations Chair Adam Koenig (R-Erlanger). Doan will face Chris Brown (D-Elsmere) for the 69th District House seat.

Rep. Tom Burch (D-Louisville) has served the 30th House District since 1978, but District “A” Jefferson County Commissioner Daniel Grossberg (D-Louisville) will replace the longtime legislator following a primary victory. There is no Republican challenger in the fall.

Two sets of incumbents faced each other in the primary because of this year’s redistricting. House Natural Resources and Energy Committee Chair Jim Gooch (R-Providence) defeated Rep. Lynn Bechler (R-Marion). Bechler previously represented the 4th House District but was redrawn into Gooch’s 12th District. Alan Lossner (D-Slaughters) will take on Gooch in the General Election.

District 97 Rep. Bobby McCool (R-Van Lear) will retain his seat following a primary election victory over Rep. Norma Kirk-McCormick (R-Inez). Kirk-McCormick served in the 93rd House District before redistricting. McCool faces no Democratic challenger.

Redistricting created opportunities for newcomers. Lindsey Tichenor (R-LaGrange) will represent the newly drawn 6th Senate District following her primary win, as no Democrats are on the ballot in November. The district’s current senator, C.B. Embry (R-Morgantown), is retiring at the end of the year.

The retirement of Senate Economic Development, Tourism, and Labor Committee Chair Wil Schroder (R-Wilder) means residents of the 24th District will see two new names on the ballot in November. Shelley “Funke” Frommeyer (R-Alexandria) won her primary contest and will face Highland Heights City Councilmember Rene Heinrich (D-Highland Heights) in the General Election.

Amy Neighbors (R-Edmonton) will replace retiring House Banking and Insurance Committee Chair Bart Rowland (R-Tompkinsville). Neighbors won her 21st District primary and will run unopposed in the fall.

Steve Bratcher (R-Elizabethtown) will face Katherine Leonard (D-Elizabethtown) for the 25th House District.  Bratcher won his primary while Leonard ran unopposed. They look to replace the retiring Public Pension Oversight Board Co-Chair Jim DuPlessis (R-Elizabethtown).

Sarah Stalker (D-Louisville) will replace retiring 34th District Rep. Mary Lou Marzian (D-Louisville). Stalker will run unopposed in November, as will John Hodgson (R-Fisherville). He won his 36th District House primary to replace the retiring House State Government Committee Chair Jerry Miller (R-Louisville).

Candy Massaroni (R-Bardstown) will replace former House Majority Whip Chad McCoy, who announced his retirement at the end of the Regular Session. Massaroni will be unopposed for the 50th District seat in November.

Lindsey Burke (D-Lexington) defeated her 75th District primary challengers and will run unopposed to replace Rep. Kelly Flood (D-Lexington), who also retired this year. Chad Aull (D-Lexington) will also face no challengers following his primary victory in the 79th District House Race. He will replace the retiring Rep. Susan Westrom (D-Lexington).